SLS Council

Commissioner’s Regulations 90.18(b)(2)(i) describe the responsibilities of the School Library System Council.  The Council includes representatives of providers and users of library services.  Members of the Council are nominated by and selected by the current Council members.  The Council currently has 13 members.  Each member has a three-year term which can be renewed.  The Council works with the School Library System Director to recommend policy; do long-range and short-range planning; and evaluate the system’s services.  The Council is a quasi-governing body and is structured to run like a board of trustees, with officers, by-laws and official minutes.  The Council meets four times a year.  For further information about the Council, contact Sara Kardasz, Program Administrator, 631-595-6834.

NameOrganizationTitleTerm Expires
(June 30)
Carol Byrne
Deer Park Public LibraryLibrarian2024
Elizabeth AitkenNorthport (ES)SLMS2024
Deanna JakubowskySmithtown (MS)SLMS2024
Dawn Koziarz (Vice Chair)Copiague (MS)SLMS2023
Dr. Cathy Masrour (Chair)Smithtown (HS)SLMS2023
Dr. Bea BaadenLIU/PalmerDirector2022
Susan TeeterSouth Huntington (ES)SLMS2024
Sally StieglitzLILRCCoordinator2022
Kim Bronzino Recording SecretaryCommack (ES)SLMS2023
Jill Adler St. Anthony's (HS)Director2022
Donna Fife Elwood (MS)SLMS2022
Dr. Matthew Covey Rockefeller University LibraryUniversity Lib2022
Jane Herbst (Past Chair)George Mercer, Jr.Special Librarian2023

Meeting Minutes

April 15, 2021

January 14, 2021

November 17, 2020

September 23, 2020

April 7, 2020

January 14, 2020

November 21, 2019

September 25, 2019

April 16, 2019

January 17, 2019

November 14, 2018

September 25, 2018

April 24, 2018

January 17, 2018

November 16, 2017

September 19, 2017

April 27, 2017

January 23, 2017

November 17, 2016

September 23, 2016

May 12, 2016

February 24, 2016

December 2, 2015

October 14, 2015